In order to purchase and use cannabis for health-related problems, all patients must get a legal medical marijuana card in Missouri.
How to Get a
Card in Missouri
Come in either at the Cape Girardeau or Poplar Bluff clinic for a physician evaluation form. Once IRPC doctor sees you, you will receive an official medical marijuana recommendation that will allow you to get a medical marijuana card in Missouri.
IRPC will charge $150 (one-time fee) for initial Marijuana Card evaluation. $75 fee for renewal at each year.
How to Get aMissouri Medical Marijuana Card
Frequently Asked Questions
No. The law prohibits the DHSS, as well as Missouri licensed dispensaries, from making personal identifying information public. Physicians and those employed by dispensaries will be able to verify a patient or caregiver registration.
No. Insurance companies do not cover the cost of a certification in Missouri because marijuana is still illegal at the federal level.
No. At this time, in order to access medical cannabis in Missouri, you must be a patient in the Missouri medical marijuana program. You will need to get a medical marijuana card in the state of Missouri.
No. You must be 18 years or older and a legal resident of Missouri to get a medical card in Missouri
YES, a qualifying patient with a medical card is allowed to grow 6 flowering plants in their home. (It must be an enclosed, locked facility that is equipped with security devices that permit access only to the patient/caregiver.) Patients can purchase up to 4 ounces of dried medical marijuana or equivalent.
No, you will only be able to obtain medical marijuana at a Missouri-licensed dispensary.
Medical marijuana is available from retail dispensaries licensed by DHSS.
Can I fax my medical records to you so that they can be viewed by the doctor at the time of my medical marijuana evaluation?
Yes, you can fax your records either at 573-776-1107 or 573-335-4454 or you can have them emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
The official medical card issued by the state of Missouri has information such as your name, date of birth, ID number, and says MEDICAL MARIJUANA QUALIFYING PATIENT on it.
Patients should receive their Missouri marijuana card within 30 days of application, if your application is approved.
A registered Missouri medical physician will examine you, review medical records, assess your medical history, maintain your patient records and provide you all the necessary documents so you can apply for the Missouri Medical Marijuana Card.
You will need a photo ID and medical records that say something about the condition for which you are trying to enter the program.
The cost of registration with the DHSS (which is separate from us) is $25.
All medical providers working with IRPC are licensed and authorized to practice medicine in Missouri and are in full compliance with Missouri State’s medical cannabis laws. They all possess an extensive, working knowledge of medical cannabis benefits, allowing them to certify you for a medical card.
State licensed physicians are permitted to recommend marijuana for patients with the following nine qualifying conditions and ALSO ANY ADDITIONAL CONDITIONS a doctor approves. Some of the most common qualifying patient conditions include:
- Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment
- You must have one of the DHSS-approved conditions. These include:
⦁ – Certain debilitating and life-threatening conditions like cancer, HIV/AIDS, and any terminal illness as confirmed by a doctor’s diagnosis.
⦁ – Certain severe psychiatric disorders like PTSD, if diagnosed by a certified psychiatrist.
⦁ – Chronic conditions like glaucoma, epilepsy/seizures, and intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment.
⦁ – Conditions that cause extreme pain or muscle spasms, such as multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome.
⦁ – Any chronic condition commonly treated with addictive pharmaceuticals, if a doctor concludes that marijuana would provide a safer, effective alternative.
⦁ Additional qualifying conditions—subject to a doctor’s discretion—may include Alzheimer’s, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, autism, cachexia, Crohn’s disease, hepatitis C, Huntington’s, IBS, and various neuropathies.
- Debilitating psychiatric disorders including post-traumatic stress, if diagnosed by a state licensed psychiatrist
- Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a doctor determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication
- Any terminal illness
- In the professional judgment any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including, but not limited to, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia and wasting syndrome.
The cost for the Missouri Medical Marijuana Certification is $150 for the initial visit. This price includes assistance with paperwork, medical marijuana education, the doctor’s visit, and any other help throughout the process.
To purchase: DHSS is to set a limit of not less than 4 ounces of dried marijuana or equivalent in 30-day period.
A patient medical card or caregiver registration will be valid from the date of issuance and expire one year later.
Email your inquiries to MedicalMarijuanaInfo@health.mo.gov.
Patients are required to be a resident of Missouri and have at least one qualifying condition diagnosed by a licensed physician.
Call either at 1-573-776-1100 or 1-573-335-4422 to schedule an appointment for any of our services.